Day At The Office pt 1

Today was day 2 of the Facebook Wars and all the Dean’s classes were covered because we were short handed and it promised to be a busy day. Of course no one informed me that my two ESL Science classes were covered, so a confused looking substitute stumbled into my class about 3 minutes into the period just as I was explaining the day’s assignment.

“On the top of the page, describe an environment. Describe the climate, the available food source, the predators and the terrain. Then list the physical or behavioral adaptations that a group of humans might develop in that environment by the process of evolution by natural selection. Underneath that, draw a picture of the new human and all his physical changes. This is due by tomorrow morning. Any questions?”

“Mister, I have a question.”

“Yes?”

“Do we have to draw a picture or just write?”

I threw my hands up in defeat and handed the attendance sheet to the covering teacher. We’d both been there for years but I had no idea who he was. It’s a big school.

“I’m sorry, what’s your name?” I asked.

“Mister Nassassmalil.”

“What?”

“Nassallissall.”

I nodded and turned to the class, “This guy will be your teacher toady. Be good and do your work.” Then I turned back to the guy. “Good luck.”

“Mister! Where you going?” Shouted a girl.

“I have to be a cop and go patrol the halls.”

“No you not! You goin’ to eat donuts!”

I shrugged, “Probably.”

“Can I go with you?” Yelled a girl who had just arrived in the country from Colombia. She flashed a bright smile as she batted her eyelashes at me.

Taken aback, I paused before saying, “No.”

I could hear the “oooohs” and “ahhhhhs” and laughs from the class as I walked out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

